God’s End-of-the-World Promise to Me

gas maskIn March 2012, I watched an episode of “Doomsday Preppers” on NatGeo with my hubby. If you’re not familiar with the show, it spotlights people across America who are preparing for the end-of-the-world. Some build bunkers underground, some collect stores of food and water, some garden and can, some hoard ammunition and guns, some do all of the above. They practice for the day everything turns upside down with mock “bug out” drills.

Their opinions of how the world will end often differ. However, the thing they all have in common is that they think the world will go nuts and resources will be limited and infrastructure of modern society will be shattered. Many of them are very extreme, awkward and, in my opinion, live in a constant mindset of fear. But many of the people on the show are just like you and me–responsible and full of common sense! 😉

Well, that night after the show, my husband and I talked about emergency plans of our own as we headed to bed. Once my head hit the pillow, I couldn’t fall asleep. My wheels were turning, thinking about the show I had just seen.

My husband and I have made some emergency preparations, but nowhere near the people on that show. So, I was pondering all this and I found myself in worry. Ah, worry. Never added a day to my life, how about you? (Matthew 6:27)

“Are we ready if something awful happens? Have we done enough?”

“How would we feed or protect our babies? What if my kids get hurt, taken from us or worse…what if they die? What if they died because of my lack of preparation?!”

Worry, worry, worry…

I’m not sure if I asked the Lord what He thought OR if He just heard me in my worry cycle and fear and chose to speak to me. I really couldn’t tell you how it happened. But without a doubt I am SO sure that what I heard next was Him.

As if five people were talking all at once, I heard the Holy Spirit speak five scriptures. With the ears of my spirit, I heard all five things as if they were spoken one at a time, clearly. In my spirit, I also comprehended and pondered all five things in an instant.

I had a sudden rush of peace–the kind that passes all understanding (Philippians 4:7) and instantly fell asleep. It was like I heard the scriptures, felt the peace and then said, “OH! Okay, God. Yeah, thanks! ZZZZZzzzzzz….”

The next morning, I was trying to remember all the scriptures, so excited to tell my husband about this unique experience. I was frustrated, though, because I could only remember three of the five scriptures.


“Maybe I only heard three and just thought it was five because I was sleepy? I bet it was only three since I can’t remember the other two.”

“No,” my husband insisted, “if your spirit told you five scriptures, it was five. You’ll remember it eventually.”

For two weeks, I tried to remember the other two scriptures. I was so frustrated! Finally, I sat down to journal about my experience and, for the first time, looked up the scriptures for exact references.

Lo and behold, I found my other two scriptures.

Philippians 4:19 “But my God shall supply all my needs according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” One.

Genesis 18:17 “Shall I hide from Abraham what I am about to do…” (The concept: As servants of God, if we’re seeking Him, He will tell us what is about to come or will at least give us some form of forewarning.) Two.

Psalms 91:9-11 “9For you have made the LORD, my refuge, Even the Most High, your dwelling place. 10No evil will befall you, Nor will any plague come near your tent. 11For He will give His angels charge concerning you, To guard you in all your ways..” Three, four, five.

We aren’t “Doomsday Prepper” material by any stretch of the imagination. But each month we try to add more pieces to our “just in case” emergency stockpile. My husband is especially diligent at it. The important thing is,though, our hope is in the Lord. We put our trust in Him. He is our Rock, our Provider and our Peace.

God is so good and I LOVE His Holy Spirit.

Think on these things…

Zechariah 4:6 “‘Not by might nor by power, but by my Spirit,’ says the LORD Almighty.”

2 thoughts on “God’s End-of-the-World Promise to Me

Leave a comment